Resources

As stated before, I do enjoy learning from people who are in the know. I like learning from their experience.  Nevertheless, I am also the type to seek additional information. There is a multitude of resources available on topics of all kinds.  When working on my writing, I was compelled to look for books.  One of my favourite resources when searching for books is Goodreads.

Goodreads enables its users to look up specific titles, authors, subjects and more.  I love the recommendations that friends are able to send to one another. Best of all, I enjoy using the tracking aspect of the site and app.  I track the books that I have read, give them ratings and occasionally write a review. It also tracks my to be read list which always grows, and my currently reading list (I always have more than one book on the go).

Two books that I enjoyed reading in order to learn more about the craft of writing are:

Crafting Novels & Short Stories: The Complete Guide to Writing Great Fiction

Beyond reading about the craft of writing, it is also helpful to read books that belong to the same genre as well as other genres.  This exposure to the work of other authors is useful in appreciating the finished product.  I am working on reading 52 books this year, that does not include magazines, blogs and web articles that I read.

 

Leave a comment